Friday, October 9, 2009

Noise Committee to be formed

After six weeks and two Town Council meetings of being continued with no resolution, the noise ordinance Thursday night was tabled. Town Council Chair, Ken Marshall, requested a seven member committee be formed to deal with noise in Bristol and come up with a final recommendation for the Town Council. Ken said the committee would be made up of the Police Chief, the Town Zoning enforcement officer (Ed Tanner), a business person, a person from a non-profit, a community member and one or two Town Council members (Ray Cordeiro and/or Mary Parella). Ken Marshall also requested that the committee study what other towns have done and are currently doing to abate noise. He specifically singled out a recent letter written by James Farley of Mount Hope Farm who he said selfishly had the existing noise ordinance passed 2 years ago for his own self interest at Mount Hope Farm (MHF) at the expense of the rest of the community. (Close to 75% of MHF revenues come from weddings.) Ken Marshall called Mr. Farley's recent letter to the Town Council (and others) defending the noise ordinance "vile, arrogant, and disrespectful." For another point of view, read this weeks (Oct. 8, 2009) editorial in the Bristol Phoenix titled "Buyer Beware" focusing on the Blithewold/Van Wickle neighbors dispute.
If anyone reading this would like to volunteer to be interviewed to be on this soon-to-be-formed committee, please email Lou Cirillo, Bristol Town Clerk, at or call him at Town Hall at 253 7000 for details.

No comments: